MyCIMA

Exemptions

Replies : 6
Keywords: exemptions, studying

Just to get something off my chest and see if anyone else feels the same way....

I studied Economic and Financial Management at Keele University (not a CIMA partner), got a first class degree and got exemptions from 4 out of 5 of the certificate level examinations.

I've studied CIMA for a few years and have often come across people who get an outrageous number of exemptions because they went to a CIMA partner university.

Example A) a guy i met on a tuition course for P4, who did Accountancy and Finance at Exeter (a partner uni), got a 3rd class degree and i quote "attended about 1 in 10 of my lectures - god knows how i passed hahaha evil laugh". This guy got exemtions from all of his certificate level and all of the managerial level exept P4 and P5 (in most peoples opinion, the easier of the level)

I've met several people like this and it never fails to amaze me.

I can see the reason why, partner unis will often have the same lecturers doing the degree classes as the CIMA class, so the degree could be aimed at a continuation to CIMA.... but quite such a difference in treatment?

Aside from my obvious jealousy of having to do more work than someone else for the same reward, I think this makes it easier for potentially less adequate people to get membership status, thus devaluing the profession.

Anyone else experienced this?

exemptions

well i think p4 + 5 are the hardest, lol. it just depends if you like theory or not, personally i don't like it.

its not that hard for a university to become cima accredited - they just need to contact cima and supply them with the syllabus information of all their applicable degrees, then the content is compared and exemptions awarded where deemed appropriate - they will end up being listed on that online database.

im guessing your degree was asessed on the accelerated route 2? in that case you can't get anything more than the certificate level.